On Tuesday, June 12, 2018, guests gathered to celebrate the Australian Fashion Foundation’s Annual Summer Party at Make Believe, SIXTY LES. Each year, AUSFF awards two $20,000 scholarships and provides internships with top fashion houses in New York City and Europe to the next generation of Australian designers. All proceeds from ticket and raffle sales benefit AUSFF. The 2018 Annual Summer Party was presented by QIC | GRE and the American Australian Association.

The Australian Fashion Foundation thanks its co-title sponsors, QIC | GRE & the American Australian Association (AAA), for their generous support of AUSFF’s 2018 Summer Party & Scholarship Awards.

The Australian Fashion Foundation would also like to extend a special thank you to Bird in Hand for its charitable product donation to the 2018 Summer Party, and the following sponsors for their generous donations to AUSFF’s annual Summer Party raffle:

Dr. Barbara Sturm
Firmdale Hotels
Rachael Ruddick
Lab Series
Dion Lee
Becca Cosmetics
Bird in Hand

Thank you to AUSFF’s Honorary Committee:

Camilla Freeman-Topper Designer, CAMILLA AND MARC
Marc Freman Designer, CAMILLA AND MARC
Dion Lee Designer, Dion Lee
Kym Ellery Designer, Ellery
Ryan Lobo Designer, TOME
Ramon Martin Designer, TOME
Malcolm Carfrae Co-Founder, AUSFF
Julie Anne Quay Co-Founder, AUSFF
Rob Newbould Board Member, AUSFF
Naomi Watts Actress
Nicky Zimmermann Co-Founder & Creative Director, Zimmermann
Simone Zimmermann Co-Founder & COO, Zimmermann

And special thank you to AUSFF’s Summer Party Notable Guests:

Ajak Deng Model
Akiima Model
Alexandra Agostan Model
Aleyna FitzGerald Model
Athena Calderone EyesSwoon
Atty Michell Model
Charlee Fraser Model
Claudia Li Designer, Claudia Li
Daniel Garofali Model
Eric Rutherford Model
Garrett Neff Model
Georgia Fowler Model
Georgia Lazzaro Design Director, Protagonist
Georgina Burke Model
Georgina Duckworth Director of Corp., Gov., Social & Cultural Programs, AAA
Igee Okafor Influencer
Jillian Davison Fashion Director
Jodie Boland Makeup Artist; Men’s Grooming, See Management
Julia Van Os Model
Laura Brown Editor in Chief, InStyle
Lincoln Pilcher Photographer
Logan Crosby Model
Martyn Thompson Photographer
Montana Cox Model
Pete Maiden Founder, Convicts
Sam Woolf Stylist
Skye Fisher General Manager, Strategy & Product Development, QIC | GRE
Susan Joy Stylist
Tim Watson Associate Designer, Thom Browne
Tom Bull Model
Victoria Lee Model
Zanita Whittington Influencer



Winners of the Australian Fashion Foundation Awards 2017/18 Announced


SYDNEY (December 19, 2017) – The Australian Fashion Foundation tonight announced the 2017/2018 winners of its annual internship program at Pier One Sydney Harbour Hotel, Sydney. Fashion designers, Lucy Dickinson of RMIT & Mikala Tavener Hanks of UTS were each awarded a financial grant of $20,000 and a six-month internship at a global fashion house in the USA or Europe to help them pursue their talent on an international scale. 

Notable guests who showed their support at last night’s cocktail party included: fashion designers Nicky Zimmermann, Dion Lee; Bianca Spender, Camilla Freeman-Topper and Marc Freeman along with Louise Van de Vorst and Lincoln Pilcher. 

“Both designers had a strong vision with collections feeling very innate and personal,” said, designer Dion Lee. Nicky Zimmerman said “Mikala’s collection was so refined and showed such restraint. You can see it on the floor in Barneys.” 

“The quality of entrants was incredibly high this year and determining a winner was very difficult. We hope that we can provide a life-changing springboard for these two talented Australians. My only wish is that we could award more grants in future years," said AUSFF co-founder, Malcolm Carfrae. 

The foundation’s commitment to opening doors to transform careers has been proven over the last nine years, with previous winners moving on to high profile positions across the globe. These include 2009 winner, Georgia Lazzaro who went on to become Design Director at Protagonist after a placement at Calvin Klein and Tim Watson (2012) who is currently Associate Designer at Thom Browne. Winners from 2014, Grace Butterworth and Alexander Oscar Kelvy have also formally joined the design teams for Giles Deacon (Grace) and Louis Vuitton (Alex), proving that internship placement truly opens global doors. 

Judges present at the award’s announcement included Alison Veness, (Editor, 10 Magazine); Kellie Hush (Editor-in-Chief, Harper’s BAZAAR Australia); fashion designer Nicky Zimmermann; fashion designer Dion Lee; fashion consultant and former VOGUE editor Nancy Pilcher, Kara Hurry (AUSFF Board Member & Director of Entente Agency); and AUSFF Co-Founder Malcolm Carfrae (Founder, Carfrae Consulting). 

Founded by Malcolm Carfrae and Julie Anne Quay in 2008, the Australian Fashion Foundation is a New York-based global non-profit organization which supports emerging Australian fashion talent gain world-class fashion experience and mentorship. 

The AUSFF Scholarship Awards are open to designers, photographers, stylists, writers, and art directors - any fashion profession that meets the criteria of eligibility. To make a submission for the 2018/2019 AUSFF grants and for further information, visit 


Further information on the winners can be viewed on their websites:





Australian Fashion Foundation Scholarship Awards 2017-2018 Finalists Announced

The Australian Fashion Foundation is pleased to announce the ten finalists of the AUSFF Scholarship Awards 2017-2018:

  1. Alicia Minter-Hunt
  2. Alissar Hammoud
  3. Antoinette El-Alam
  4. Lisa Liu
  5. Lucy Dickinson
  6. Mikala Tavener Hanks
  7. Nicholas Carolan
  8. Rachel Louey
  9. Sammi Guss
  10. Shayli Harrison

Selected finalists will participate in the final judging competition in Sydney, Australia, on Tuesday, December 19th, 2017. Winners will be announced immediately following at the celebration event.

Thank you to all of the talented AUSFF Scholarship Awards 2017-2018 applicants.