SYDNEY (December 19, 2018) – Last night the annual AUSFF Scholarship Awards presented by QIC Global Real Estate (QICGRE) and the American Australian Association (AAA) was held at The Paramount Recreation Club, Surry Hills. 

 AUSFF Co-Founder Malcolm Carfrae, who had flown in from New York and Influencer Mimi Elashiry, an avid supporter of AUSFF, announced the scholarships. 

Fashion graduates Helena Dong and Amanda Nichols were chosen out of the ten finalists representing Australia’s finest design schools – Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Queensland University of Technology and University of Technology Sydney. Helena and Amanda were each awarded a financial grant of $20,000 USD and a six-month internship at a global fashion house in Europe or the USA, to guide them in pursuing their talent on an international scale.

Support of the Scholarship comes from a wide cross section of the fashion industry. Attending guests included fashion designers, Nicky and Simone Zimmermann, Camilla Freeman-TopperBianca Spender, Kit Willow-Podgornik, and influencers Tanja Gacic and Mimi Elashiry together with Dinosaur Designs founder, Louise Olsen.

“A extraordinary pool of individuals all of who are very talented across many disciplines required to be a success in the fashion industry of the future,” said David Bush, consultant to QICGRE.

Nicky Zimmerman said, “For me it is enjoyable to meet and see the creative future of the Australian and international fashion industry.”

Australian universities are producing world-class fashion talent but there simply aren’t enough opportunities in Australia. So, with the support of QICGRE and AAA, we help these young people obtain world-class experience at top global brands and the best mentors,” said Malcolm Carfrae. 

AUSFF Scholarship placements have led to exciting career opportunities including 2016 winner Hannah Tan, now at Chanel; 2015 winner Panayota Theodore is a junior designer at Bianca Spender; 2015 winner Vlad Kanevsky is an associate designer at Thom Browne; 2014 winner Alexander Oscar Kelvy is a men’s footwear designer for Louis Vuitton; while 2013 recipient Amie Jones is a senior designer at RUSSH Magazine – just a few examples of the emerging Australian talent whose career trajectories have been propelled forward after the win. 

The Judging panel for the 2018 award included the Australian Fashion Laureate’s Vogue Australia Editor-in-Chief Edwina McCann and Consultant Nancy Pilcher, Harper’s Bazaar Australia’s Editor-in-Chief Eugenie Kelly, Zimmermann Creative Director Nicky Zimmermann, legendary fashion stylist Brana Wolf, Consultant David Bush for QICGRE, AUSFF Co-Founder & Founder of Carfrae Consulting Malcolm Carfrae, and Communications Consultant Kara Hurry

2018 presenting partner QICGRE understands the benefit of international exposure for young talent: “QICGRE is proudly partnering with AUSFF for 2018, presenting its Scholarship Awards in Sydney – dedicated to nurturing young Australian creative talent through international experience with the aim of supporting professional development and strengthening our fashion community. Congratulations to founder Malcolm Carfrae on a remarkable decade of AUSFF Awards success and his ongoing commitment to championing Australia globally.  We're excited to celebrate this milestone together,” said Skye Fisher, General Manager, Strategy & Product Development, QICGRE.

“Fashion has always been on the cutting edge of artistic expression. While I was Ambassador in Australia, I witnessed the amazing creativity of Australian artists in the important fashion industry. The AAA is honored to partner with the AUSFF Scholarship Awards to help new artists during those critical, early steps of their careers,” said Ambassador John Berry (Ret’d.), President, American Australian Association. 

Artist Louise Olsen, Co-Founder of Dinosaur Designs, created and generously donated the bespoke 2018 award trophies to mark the decade. 

Photography by Myles Kalus (@stylemyles).

Special thank you to our beverage partners, Bird in Hand & Young Henrys.